Moon Peach Hand Pies – An Avatar Recipe

Hey there you! I’m sorry for not posting in a while, but unfortunately I’ve been taken by the flu Demon for the past couple of weeks – It’s a joy, really. I’ve also recently started a new job which is amazing, and have been working on stuff for my upcoming holiday, so busy, busy, busy…argh!

But today I’d thought I’d share my love of pies with you once again. However these are better. Why? Because they are hand pies. Essentially portable fruit pies! There is absolutely nothing bad about portable pie. Nothing.

I love the story of how Momo from Avatar: The Legend of Aang got his name, and Moon Peaches just sound so enchanting don’t they? So I decided to think up a recipe incorporating them, something that would be quick to rustle up, but something that would be portable, so that Aang and his friends could take them on their adventures. Or something you could take on a late Winter or early Spring picnic?

See what I did there?

I decided to use these gorgeous yellow Nectarines that I couldn’t pass up, but if you fancy you can use real peaches, or plums if you want something deeper, less sweet.

Start by heating your oven to 180ºC. This recipe makes 6-8 pastries.


img_3180Moon Peach Hand Pies

Ingredients

  • 5 Medium Yellow Nectarines
  • 1 Pack Ready Rolled Shortcrust Pastry
  • 3tbsp Light Brown Sugar
  • 2tsp Ground Almonds
  • 1tbsp Almond Milk
  • Icing Sugar for dusting

Method

  1. Halve and de-stone your Nectarines, and pop them on a baking tray, spoon 2tbsp of Light Brown Sugar over the top and bake for 15 minutes, or until slightly caramelised and squishy.
  2. Once cooked and slightly cooled, chop into small 1cm chunks, and place in a mixing bowl with all but 1tsp of the sugar and the almonds.
  3. Unroll the pastry and chop into 9 equal squares. I did this by rolling/pulling the pastry until squares – they don’t have to be perfect. Here you also want to line 2 baking trays with baking paper too.
  4. Place one square on the baking paper, and spoon mixture onto one corner, covering about half the pastry, and leaving a good  1/2-1cm at the edge. Brush some soy/almond/plant milk along the edges, and fold the uncovered pastry over the mixture, meeting the opposite point. Basically like you’re folding a napkin in half, point to point. Then squish the edges together with a fork. Continue with all but one of your squares, or until you’ve run out of mixture.
  5. Poke some holes in the top of your pastry, then brush each one with your plant milk.
  6. Cut small moons out of your spare square, I used a small tear-drop shape cutter  to do this, but a circle would work too. Stick these to the centre top of you pastry, along the flat edge.
  7. Sprinkle with 1tsp Light Brown Sugar, and bake until golden – for me this was 25 minutes.
  8. Once cooked, and slightly cooled, serve warm on napkins covered in Icing Sugar.

img_3173Yum!


I hope you enjoyed this recipe, it’s something that I feel really sums up the end of Winter, as we start coming into the Spring. I see you Sun!

If you try out any of my recipes, do remember to share them with me on Twitter or Instagram.

-Steff

XOXO

Leave a Reply

