“Eat it before it eats you” Soup – A Wizarding Wold Recipe

This is probably one of my all-time favourite lines from the Harry Potter movies, and I’ve always wanted to make some creepy Leaky Cauldron-worthy soup. So because I can blog about it, I decided to give it a go!

Harry’s journey on the Knight Bus is absolutely brilliant, I mean it’s a magical purple bus with a careless attendee and a talking shrunken head! As well as a fast old man driver. I think it’s one of the coolest sets in all of the movies, and always looked over – but look at  how many beds they fit in there – so many! 

I also want to add a little disclaimer – I won’t be posting a bread recipe, so use whichever white or wholewheat recipe you like the best to make the tentacles. I’m not good at making bread, pretty much every attempt fails, so just follow my sculpting advice, not my actual bread *face palm*. I can’t make bread, it’s a well-known fact ok?

You’re going to want to pop your oven on to whatever temperature is on your bread recipe to start with, and you’ll need a blender. I used nifty stick blender, but a NutriBullet, or some sort of smoothie/soup maker will work.


img_3099

“Eat it before it eats you” Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 Portion knocked-back bread dough
  • 600g Frozen Peas
  • 1l Vegetable Stock
  • 1 Medium Onion
  • 1 Medium Potato
  • 1tbsp Vegetable Oil/Rapeseed Oil
  • 2tbsp Soy/Oat Cream
  • Salt & Pepper to taste

Method

Bread Tentacles

  1. To make the tentacles, grab small pieces of your dough and roll them into sausages, with one end tapered off to be the end of the tentacle.
  2. Grab a sheet pan and some oven safe china dishes, I used a couple of soufflé dishes, and a small ‘stuffing’ dish. Pop these on your sheet pan, they don’t want to be too tall, about 5cm tall.
  3. Drape your tentacles however you want over your oven safe dishes. Then pop a clean dishcloth over them and leave to second prove – time will depend on your own recipe. As I said, my bread didn’t work out too well, and I can’t make bread…
  4. Once second prove is complete, pop the tentacles – dishes and all – in the oven to bake.

Soup

  1. Grab a medium-large saucepan, and heat up your oil.
  2. Dice your onion, and add to the pan. Cook these until they are soft, slightly translucent but not brown.
  3. Peel, dice and add your potato to the pan, making sure it’s covered in the  oil.
  4. Add the vegetable stock, and leave to simmer until the potatoes have softened up.
  5. Once your potatoes are soft, add all of the peas and cook until they are done. Make sure not to over cook them, you want this soup to be bright green, not green grey.
  6. Once done, take the pot off the heat and leave to cool. Then, blend that sucker until smooth!
  7. Add your Plant Cream, and blend in to the soup along with your choice of seasoning.

Put it together

  1. Choose a soup bowl, and place your tentacles around the edges.
  2. Ladle your soup into the centre of the bowl, and serve.

I hope you enjoy this soup, my parents and I loved it. My bread didn’t turn out too well, but I have faith in you and your yeast-rising, bread making skills. This soup is souper (hehe) green and so, so tasty! As someone who doesn’t use salt on anything – not even chips my chums – I did find that this soup needed some, but once added it’s divine!

-Steff

XOXO

Ps – Why is everything I make green???

One thought on ““Eat it before it eats you” Soup – A Wizarding Wold Recipe

  1. Oh I love this! Quite simple but the presentation makes it look so cool! It’s actually something (as a pretty fussy eater) that I can make and eat, unlike a lot of recipes I see online. Look forward to trying this!

    xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

